The process of expungement is quite simple with my office. I meet with clients in person or by phone and learn their story, as well as, review their criminal history in Kentucky. If you are eligible to expunge your record, I am required by statute to order both your official Kentucky Administrative Office of the Court Criminal History and a Kentucky State Police Certificate of Eligibility. The state charges me $42.50 for these documents. I cannot order your criminal history from the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts and your Kentucky State Police Certificate of Expungement Eligibility without your full name, name at time of your arrest if different. date of birth, address, email, and social security number. Please go to my website www.helpexpungeme.com on your smartphone or computer and complete the contact us form. I will look up your criminal history, review it with you, and order the two state forms listed above.
After I receive your records, I will review them with you and prepare the appropriate notices, petitions, motions and orders for the courts. The state has up to 30 days to send me your records. Once I receive the records, I only have 30 days in which to file the petitions and pay the court fees. If you pled guilty to a misdemeanor, the court charges $100.00 to file for a misdemeanor expungement petition and order. If the charge is for a felony expungement, the court charges $250.00 for filing a felony expungement petition and order. If all your misdemeanor charges were dismissed or you were found not guilty the state does not assess a filing fee for expungement. The legislature after June 27, 2019 will permit the $250.00 fee to be paid in installments. The first installment of $50.00 must be paid at the filing of the felony expungement petition. The remaining $200.00 can be paid over an 18 month period. The expungement order will not be entered until the balance is paid.
Generally speaking, my fees range from $250.00-$500.00 per misdemeanor expungement. In other words, if you pled guilty on October 1, 2008 with a DUI 1st offense, Reckless Driving, and Speeding, the total fee for expunging those charges would be:
MISEDEMEANOR EXPUNGEMENT COST
If the charge is for a felony expungement, we must secure a copy of your Kentucky Administrative Office of the Court Criminal History and a Kentucky State Police Certificate of Eligibility. The state charges us $40.00 for these documents and has up to 30 days to send us your records. Once the records are sent from the state, we only have 30 days in which to prepare and file the petitions and pay the court fees. During this period, one of our lawyers will review them with you and prepare the appropriate notices, petitions, motions and orders for the courts. Most of our clients do not have to appear in court - our office can take care of everything for you.
The Circuit Court has up to 120 days to set a hearing date for a felony expungement. The court will notify the Commonwealth Attorney and any victims. That is why it is so important to personalize your petition for expungement with the court. We need to educate the court that not only are you eligible for expungement, but it is the right thing for the court to do!